h1

A Natural History of My ____________

02/09/2009

I asked some writers and artists to respond to the prompt below.

A Natural History of My ____________

Focus in on one particular part of your self, tangible or intangible, and write a natural history of it based on your observations in 50 to 1500 words (poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, or drama).  This could be a natural history of almost anything; for instance, your eyebrows, stretch marks, tongue, ingrown toenails, frowns, tragi, tendency to embellish or ignore the truth, laughs, wanderlust, farts, pragmatism, shins, or asthma.  I’m curious to see what starting out with such a tight focus will yield.  I’d also like at least one “aid” with a caption to accompany your words; like “fig. 1” from science texts.

 

I posted a new “Natural History” on Wednesdays for 28 weeks from September 9, 2009, to March 17, 2010. The project has been left open for further contributions, which I will post on occasion.  I offer many thanks to the writers and artists who have participated in this project.

 

Brian Barker wrote “A Natural History of My Curiosity”

Danielle Evans wrote “A Natural History of My Earlobes”

Maureen Gibbon wrote “A Natural History of My Feet”

Gabrielle Calvocoressi wrote “A Natural History of My God”

Allen Gee wrote “A Natural History of My Nose”

David Bernardy wrote “A Natural History of My Morning”

Nicky Beer wrote “A Natural History of My Ass”

Yona Harvey wrote “A Natural History of My Disasters [abridged]”

Josh Tyree wrote “A Natural History of Mild Asthma”

Camille Dungy wrote “A Natural History of My Ears”

Ed Pavlic wrote “A Natural History of My Thanks”

Ed Skoog wrote “A Natural History of My Mishearing”

Steven Wolfe wrote “A Natural History of My Right Anterior Cruciate Ligament”

Jill McDonough wrote “A Natural History of My Marriage”

Alicia Jo Rabins wrote “A Natural History of My Instrument”

Laurie Clements Lambeth wrote “A Natural History of My Canes”

Ross Gay wrote “A Natural History of My Sweet Potato”

Kevin McColley wrote “A Natural History of His Violence”

David Masiel wrote  “A Natural History of My Exophoria”

Devin Corbin wrote “A Natural History of My Electricity”

Laura Marchetti wrote “A Natural History of O.P.A.L”

Krista Franklin wrote “A Natural History of My Drapetomania”

Joan Menefee wrote “A Natural History of My Writer’s Callus”

Laura Newbern wrote “A Natural History of My Heart”

Peter Kline wrote “A Natural History of My Obscenely Good Looks”

Christopher Stackhouse wrote “Artist Among Other Things: The Natural History of My Social Position”

Jason Koo wrote “A Natural History of My Name”

James Arthur wrote “A Natural History of My Party Tricks”

Rachel Moritz wrote “A Natural History of My Nostalgia”

Tess Taylor wrote “Natural History of My Hunger”

John W. Evans wrote “A Natural History of My Husky Frame”

Benjamin Becket wrote “A Natural History of My Sleepless Nights”

Metta Sáma wrote “A Natural History of My goodwill and loving kindness

Leave a Reply

