h1

Micrograffiti: They two by Benjamin Beckett

05/01/2011

They two by Benjamin Beckett

They sat down under the bridge, they two.

I always make up strange things about people, it’s how I remember them. Sometimes I forget the things I made up aren’t true.

What did you make up about me? she said.

That you’re a junkie.

Excuse me?

It’s, it’s like based on what your name makes you sound like. Angel Stern the

junkie. It sounds right.

Softly, she said, so you think I’m a junkie?

No, I just make shit up, that’s how I remembered you when we first met.

They lay down, they two, to sleep.

*

Originally from Detroit, Benjamin Beckett now lives elsewhere in Michigan.

*

Micrograffiti is a project edited by Stacey Swann. The writers were asked to respond with fiction to Ben Walters’ photographs of the South London graffiti tunnel. Click here to read more >>

Leave a Reply

